Board of Education

Press Release:

Manitou Springs School District Cancels Its School Board Election

On Tuesday, September 3, Manitou Springs School District 14’s Board of Education approved a resolution to cancel its November 5 school board election after three people filed to run for the three open seats.

Jack Sharon, Gus Moen, and Gary Smith will fill the seats currently held by Sonya Teigen, Todd Nagel, and Steve Weimer.

The candidates will be sworn into office during the Board of Education’s Regular Meeting, which is scheduled for Tuesday, November 18.

The Board of Education

The Manitou Springs Board of Education (BOE) consists of 5 members elected to four-year terms. The BOE meets once a month.  This date is usually the fourth Monday of the month; however, there are months that require earlier meetings.  Please check with the district administration at 685-2024 for specific dates and times of yearly BOE meetings.   The fundamental work of the BOE is to establish the direction of the district, set organizational goals, and monitor the progress of the district towards those goals. The BOE Directors have developed a series of ends statements and executive limitations to direct their work based on multiple community meetings and outreach.  The ends statements are embedded in the district’s mission of establishing deep, meaningful relationships; creating academically rigorous courses; and providing multiple opportunities for students to engage in a wide range of activities.

 Sonya Teigen, Board President

Sonya Teigen, DirectorSonya was elected to the Board of Education in November of 2015. Sonya has been a resident of Manitou Springs since 2001. She has a B.A. in Sociology from Eastern Illinois University and a M.A. in Special Education from the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs. For the past fifteen years, Sonya has worked as a Special Education teacher and Transition Coordinator in the Pikes Peak region, including Manitou Springs School District # 14. She and her husband have two children, one who has graduated from Manitou Springs School District with the class of 2014 and one who is currently attending Manitou Springs School District. In her free time, Sonya enjoys the outdoor activities especially rafting and snowboarding. Sonya’s goal as a member of the Board of Education is to encourage the community and the school district to ensure that all students are encouraged to reach their potential by being productive and responsible citizens.


Todd Nagel, Vice President

Todd Nagel, DirectorTodd was elected to the board in November of 2015. He has been a resident of Manitou Springs 9 of the last 11 years. Todd has a BS from Liberty University and currently is owner and president of Focus Real Estate Group in Manitou Springs. He also coaches wrestling at the middle school. In his free time Todd likes to mountain bike, pilot the family drone, spend time with his family. His goals for the board of education include: continuation of the innovative culture, solid relationships between the community and the district. 



‚ÄčSteve Weimer,  Director

Steve Weimer, Board PresidentSteve was appointed to the Board of Education in 2014 and was then elected in 2015. As a Manitou Springs resident since 2004, Steve has volunteered at MSES and Boy Scouts Troop 18. He has three children: two who began kindergarten at MSES and will graduate from MSHS in 2018, and one who graduated from MSHS in 2010. Steve received his Bachelor of Science in Business from Kaplan University and earned Lean Six Sigma certificates from Villanova University. He was a business owner in Tampa, Florida until selling his company and moving to Manitou Springs. He enjoys playing guitar, repairing stringed instruments, fishing, and being outdoors. Steve strives to serve his community by helping children receive opportunities to learn for life, grow, and develop into prepared and responsible citizens.



Tina Vidovich, Director

TInaTina was recently appointed to the Board of Education June of 2017 and intends to run for reelection this November. She has been a resident of Manitou Springs for fourteen years. As a parent of a Manitou Springs School District 14 student she has served on both the Building Accountability Advisory Committee and District Accountability Advisory Committee, volunteered for various events, and most importantly served as Team Mom for MSHS Boys Soccer Team. In addition to her volunteer and parenting experiences, she is a career educator with nearly 30 years of experience as a paraprofessional, teacher, and administrator. Tina loves to spend time in Manitou with her family and friends, but especially enjoys hiking with her two Labrador retrievers. Tina’s belief is that every child deserves an excellent education.

Natalie Johnson, Director

NatalieA Manitou Springs resident since 2004,
Natalie has volunteered and/or worked with the District as a Community Liaison for Partners for Healthy Choices (PHC), Chair of the Career and Technical Education Committee, a representative on the District Sustainability Plan Committee D14 Schools (2011), a member
of the DAAC (District Accountability Action Committee) and Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee/Wellness Committee for PHC. She attended Public Schools, comes from a long-line of teachers and has experience working on and for boards. Natalie received a Bachelor of Art from Ripon College in Wisconsin with a Major in Art History and English. She has a Masters of Science from Minnesota State University, Mankato in Women's Studies. A childless taxpayer, former Manitou Springs business owner, resident and nonprofit director, she brings a unique perspective to the table. She loves to read, eat good food with friends and BUILD COMMUNITY. Johnson is the Executive Director of the Manitou Art Center and the Manitou Springs Creative District.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.